Judges Panel Announced for 2024 Competition

We are excited to announce our three judges who will serve on our panel for the fourth annual competition of Boston in 100 words.

Chandreyee Lahiri’s short fiction won the Boston ‘One City One Story’ award in 2021 and placed in contests like Boston in 100 words, Solstice Annual Fiction contest, Oxford Flash Fiction Contest and Antonym Translation award. She is an oral storyteller in the tradition of ‘The Moth’, has appeared on national storytelling shows and podcasts, curates a South Asian immigrant show (Voices) and a community building show for her city (We are Waltham), teaches occasionally and runs virtual flash-fiction workshops. Born in Kolkata, India, Chandreyee grew up in Africa and the Middle East and works for the state in environmental management. More at www.chandreyeelahiri.com.

Michelle Bowdler is the author of Is Rape a Crime? A Memoir, an Investigation and a Manifesto, longlisted for the National Book Award in 2020 and named a 100 MUST Read book by TIME Magazine. Bowdler is the recipient of a Barbara Deming Memorial Award in nonfiction, has been twice nominated for Pushcart Prizes and has been a fellow at MacDowell and Ragdale. Her work can be seen in two anthologies, The New York Times, Ms. Magazine, The Rumpus, Hippocampus, Psychology Today and several other journals. She is currently finishing her second book about the crisis in college mental health, which will be published by Basic Books. Bowdler is an active and enthusiastic member of the Boston writing community.

Marjan Kamali is the award-winning author of The Stationery Shop(Gallery Books/Simon & Schuster), a national and international bestseller, and Together Tea(EccoBooks/HarperCollins), a Massachusetts Book Award finalist. Her latest novel, The Lion Women of Tehran, will be published in July 2024. Marjan’s books are published in translation in more than 25 languages. Her essays have appeared in The Wall Street Journal, Literary Hub,and The Los Angeles Review of Books. She is a 2022 recipient of the National Endowment for the Arts Creative Writing Fellowship.